2015 ITRI-Rosenfeld Fellowship Winners Announced

October 27, 2015

Three outstanding postdoctoral fellows were recently announced as the winners of the 2015 ITRI-Rosenfeld Postdoctoral Fellowship. The fellowship honors the contributions of Arthur H. Rosenfeld, of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory’s (Berkeley Lab's) Energy Technologies Area (ETA), for his pioneering work toward the advancement of energy efficiency on a global scale. The selection process includes scrutiny of the applications by a selection committee, presentations by the finalists, and panel interviews. The award enables the applicants to engage in innovative research that leads to new energy-efficiency technologies or policies, as well as the reduction of adverse energy-related environmental impacts. It is made possible through a gift from the Industrial Technology Research Institute of Taiwan (ITRI) and with ETA support.

Kelsey Hatzell will be working on the design of low-loaded catalyst layers that enable high material utilization for energy generation applications (polymer-electrolyte fuel cells). Kelsey is joining LBNL after receiving her Ph.D. in Material Science and Engineering from Drexel University, and a MS in mechanical engineering from Penn State University.

Daniel Arnold will be studying data-driven approaches to improve the operation of the electric power distribution system.  He will be working with the Grid Integration Group within the Energy Technologies Area.  Dan is completing his Ph.D. in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at UC Berkeley.

Peter Alstone will be researching new approaches for demand-response market design and off-grid energy access, both areas where information technology offers new opportunities for supporting renewable energy transitions.  At LBNL he will be based with the Grid Integration Group and plans to work with new colleagues across the Energy Technologies Area.  Peter is completing his Ph.D. in the Energy and Resources Group at UC Berkeley.

An award ceremony was held October 6 at Berkeley Lab, attended by Dr. Sean Wang, President of ITRI International; Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Technologies; Ashok Gadgil, ETA Deputy for Science and Technology, the fellowship recipients, and their mentors – Emma Stewart (Arnold and Alstone) and Adam Weber (Hatzel).

The application period for the ITRI-Rosenfeld Postdoctoral Fellowship opens every year in August, and closes in November.


Diane Douglas