Building America's Housing Innovation Award

October 04, 2013

Award Recipient(s) 

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory


The U.S. Department of Energy recognized Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in the area of advanced technologies and practices for research on high-efficiency furnace blowers. The project team consisted of Iain Walker, Darryl Dickerhoff and Jim Lutz of the Environmental Energy Technologies Division.  Their work is credited with leading to the incorporation of energy-efficient blowers in U.S. energy efficiency programs and building codes, and the creation of a Canadian standard for rating air system blowers.

Portrait of Iain Walker
Portrait of Darryl Dickerhoff
Portrait of Jim Lutz