Lester W. Strock Award

Lester W. Strock Award

February 25, 2013

Award Recipient(s) 

Richard E. Russo


The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in/or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences.
Richard E. Russo, Ph.D. Senior Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory President & CEO, Applied Spectra, Inc. Russo is the founder and scientific director of the laser spectroscopy and materials group Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. His group pioneered the development of nanosecond and femtosecond pulsed laser ablation for chemical analysis, a 30 year contribution to fundamental and applied research. He is co-inventor of the nanowire and developer of a real-time standoff laser ultrasonic sensor (R&D100 2006). Most recently, his Berkeley research, with the assistance of Applied Spectra staff, demonstrated and patented the use of laser plasmas for real-time measurement of isotopes. The new technology named LAMIS (Laser Molecular Isotopic Spectroscopy) won a 2012 R&D100 Award, FACSS/SCiX Innovation and Spectrochimica Acta paper of the year for 2012. Russo has over 240 scientific publications; 45 refereed proceedings; 310 (215 Invited) presentations, 9 book chapters. Dr. Russo also is founder and president of Applied Spectra, Inc. (ASI).

Portrait of Richard E. Russo