Fred Burggraf Award

Fred Burggraf Award

February 03, 1993

Award Recipient(s) 

Jonathan Koomey, Deborah Schechter, Deborah Gordon


From the National Research Council's Transportation Research Board for an article on fuel economy improvements in 92 Honda Civic Hatchbacks.
The Fred Burggraf Award was established in 1966 to stimulate and encourage young researchers to contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the field of transportation. It provides recognition of excellence in transportation research by researchers 35 years of age or younger whose papers have been published under the sponsorship of any Division A Standing Group. One such award may be bestowed on eligible authors by any Group Executive Board when warranted. The award is accompanied by a cash prize and was named in honor of the late Fred Burggraf, who served as the Board's director from 1951 until his retirement in 1964.